Feature Stories

Female soldier stand out at Best Warrior
June 13, 2012
Sgt. Misty Avila collects rounds for the weapons zeroing and qualification event at Camp Buehring June 5, 2012. Five non-commissioned officers and three soldiers participated in the  "Third Army/USARCENT 2012 Non-commissioned Officer and Soldierof the Year 'Best Warrior' Competition."

Third Army/USARCENT 'Best Warrior' Competition
June 13, 2012
Sgt. Davyon Burroughs of 4th Battalion, 5th Air & Missiles Defense Regiment shoots a M16 rifle during the zero and targeting event of the "Best Warrior" NCO/Soldier of the Year competition at Camp Buerhing, Kuwait. The yearly competition tests the competing soldiers' aptitude, physical fitness and accessed them in warrior tasks and battle drills relevant to today's operating environment.

Third Army announces NCO of the Year
June 29, 2011
Maj. Gen. Peter M. Vangjel, Third Army Deputy commanding general, and Command Sgt. Maj. John D. Fourhman, Third Army senior enlisted advisor, presents the Army Commendation Medal to Sgt. Jared Lee Martin, a Hendersonville, Tenn., native, after being named Third Army Non-commissioned Officer of the Year 2011. Martin who serves as a lead technician with the 160th Signal Brigade, 335th Signal Command (Theater) (Provisional), will represent Third Army during the U.S. Forces Command Non-commissioned Officer of the Year competition at Fort Hood, Texas.